News

Elon Musk turns X’s block button into a 'glorified mute button'

Ars Technica · Jon Brodkin · last updated

X, formerly Twitter, is now letting blocked users see posts made by the people who blocked them.

“We’re starting to launch the block function update,” X’s engineering team wrote yesterday. X previously said that after the change, “If your posts are set to public, accounts you have blocked will be able to view them, but they will not be able to engage (like, reply, repost, etc.).”

To justify the change, X said the block functionality could previously be “used by users to share and hide harmful or private information about those they’ve blocked.” The change will allow people who are blocked “to see if such behavior occurs… allowing for greater transparency,” X said.

Read full article

Comments

Related Knowledge Center: Social media

State of Play

Social media platforms are the source of news for millions of people — and they have a fraught and ever-shifting relationship with the enterprises that provide that news.

The TikTok ban | The Meta-FTC trial


More informationabout Social media